The Quiet Room Releases

Here are the releases by “the Quiet Room”



01. In an unknown language
02. Twenty-Four blackbirds
03. No wake zone
04. Apocalypto
05. Our progress
06. The greater good
07. Girl in the garden
08. Manuscript
09. A conversation with you
10. Plastic Parade

Released March 2019 (Catalog# AM-042-19)

Andrew Muecke: Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Rhythms, Engineering
Matt Cahill: Vocals, Percussion


Terry Jones: Sax, Ewi (Tracks 8, 9 and 10)
Andy Rasheed: Peddle steel, Dobro (Tracks 4 and 10)
Brett Sody: Final mix and mastering

Press Release for “Manuscript” – The Sound Of Future Memory

As its title suggests, The Quiet Room’s sophomore record Manuscript is both the beginning and the end of a process; a hand wrought, private document emerging into the light, ready for the altering gaze of others. Or, like fragments of memory and partially revealed scenes, awaiting the curious archaeology of future perspective.

That the Adelaide based avant/electro duo so carefully disinter the analogue sub-strata of 1980s synth dreaming is part of their almost hallucinatory appeal. The ghosts of David Sylvian hover with echoes of Mark Hollis in a space somewhere between OMD album tracks and the misty fusions of This Mortal Coil. Phantoms of pure pop float alongside jazz phrasing, merging vaporously with poetic detachment and plaintive yearning. Indeed, this record is a multi-lingual manuscript, one that defies the crass certainties of genre reductionism and lingers diaphanously on the boundary of recognisable form and unknown pleasure.

Having garnered a cult-like following for their debut album (All The Frozen Horses) Matt Cahill and Andrew Muecke return with another moody, cinematic offering. At once retro and forward thinking, Manuscript is a record in super-position. We won’t really know what it is until we measure it in future memory, until we piece it together with the ambiguous data of our own lives. Because the room is quiet, in anticipation of song.


“All the Frozen Horses”


01. Come Undone
02. The Arena
03. Noir Des’ir
04. My Side of the Story
05. A Simpler Plan
06. Q & A
07. For Our Own Good
08. All the Frozen Horses
09. Mayan Dream
10. On the Corner of Loss & Gone
11. & I Looked Everywhere

Released January 2015 (Catalog# AM-038-15)

Andrew Muecke: Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Rhythms, Engineering
Matt Cahill: Vocals, Percussion


Terry Jones: Sax (Track 4)
Ben Pattison: Trumpet (Track 3 and 10)
Mark Pesce: Spoken word (Track 8)
Brett Sody: Final mix and mastering

Press Release for All the Frozen Horses

“The Quiet Room” is an experimental collaboration between ‘Happy Ghosts’ founding member Andrew Muecke & EVOLETAH singer/songwriter Matt Cahill.

Imagine if archaeology went sonic and dug up a layer of UK synth weirdness, circa 1982. It would sound something like ”The Quiet Room”.

Yet far from being a haircut band, this Australian duo comes from the avant-electro end of the spectrum, where lush soundtrack style, analogue synths sit beneath moody abstract poetics and darkly sparse instrumentation.

Think Japan, The Blue Nile & obscure Human League B-sides blended into an exotic, cinematic, off-kilter melange.

‘All The Frozen Horses’ is late night music for smoky rooms. Leftfield, literary and liquid, it’s a private pleasure palace for the arty bastard inside you.

‘All the Frozen Horses’ is the resulting debut album of both Matt & Andrew’s collective musical histories colliding.

Containing elements of both Dark & New wave, ‘All the Frozen Horses’ is Avant-Garde/Electro pop, at its best.